BERKLEY ATHLETICS - HOME OF THE BEARS

ATHLETIC OFFICE:  248-837-8154
FAX:  248-837-8093

 

Click HERE for all BHS Sports Schedules


SPRING SPORTS REGISTRATION

Volunteer Drivers
Pursuant to BPS Policy 3120.09 and 4120.09, any person who works with or has access to students shall be screened through the Sex Offenders Registry (SOR) list, the Internet Criminal History Access Tool (ICHAT) criminal history records check and the Offender Tracking Information System (OTIS) prior to being allowed to participate in any activity or program.

Therefore, all volunteers must submit to the Athletic Department, at least two weeks prior to driving students, the following documents:


To access each form, click on it above, or in the “Volunteer Driver Forms” folder at the bottom of this web page.  Copies can also be found on the Athletic Department bulletin board.

 

Sports Offered
Baseball, softball, boys golf, girls soccer, girls tennis, track & field

 

Sports Meeting for Students (Mandatory)
Wednesday, February 25th, 3:00 p.m.

 

Eligibility Requirements
Athletes may fail only one of their six classes during the semester immediately prior to eligibility being established, and maintain an overall semester GPA of 1.50 or higher. 

 

Required Documents
All of the following must be submitted at the time of registration in order to participate in tryouts. If the Athletic Resource Fee is not paid, or any document is incomplete and/or missing, the student will not be allowed to participate in tryouts until the complete packet is returned to the Athletic Department.

  • Athletic Resource Fee Agreement
  • Athletic Resource Fee payment
    (Check or money order only, made payable to Berkley School District)
  • Sports physical dated on or after April 15, 2014
    (If a physical was submitted for fall or winter sports , a parent or guardian must complete the Emergency Information and the Medical Treatment Consent portions of a new form.)

Registration Dates
March 5th and 6th, 3:00-4:00 p.m.
Athletic Office

 

Sports Physicals
All athletes must have a sports physical dated on or after April 15, 2014 in order to register. If a physical was submitted for fall or winter sports, a parent or guardian must complete the Emergency Information and the Medical Treatment Consent portions of a new form. Sports Physicals can be performed at one of the following facilities:


Be Well Medical Center
1964 W. 11 Mile Rd.
Berkley, MI 48072
Phone: 248-544-9300


Michigan Physicians Group (formerly the Berkley clinic)
2905 W. 12 Mile Rd. (across from the Berkley Post Office)
Berkley, MI 48072
Phone: 248-541-0770

 

 If a student does not make a team, your Athletic Resource Fee
can be picked up in the Athletic office.

 

Tryout and Coach Information

Baseball
Varsity Coach: Tom Whinham, twhinham@berkleyschools.org
JV Coach:  Michael Ogden, mogden1@live.com
March 9-11, east and west gyms
Freshman & Sophomores  - 3:30-5:30
Juniors & Seniors - 5:30-7:30 (unless you are contacted ahead of time)

Softball
Varsity Coach: Megan Colligan, mcolligan@berkleyschools.org
JV Coach: Hillary Graveline, hgraveline@berkleyschools.org
Freshman Coach:  Amy Sarris, asarris@berkleyschools.org
March 9-11, east and west gyms
Freshman & Sophomores - 3:30-5:30
Juniors & Seniors - 5:30-7:30 (unless you are contacted ahead of time)

Boys Golf
Head Coach: Scott Baltes, scottpcc@gmail.com
JV Coach:  Brian Antioch, brianantioch@gmail.com
March 9, 4:00 p.m., Royal Oak Golf Center (weather permitting)
$30 range ball fee

Girls Soccer
Varsity Coach: Matt Brzezinski, brzezinski.matt@gmail.com
JV Coach: Mark Houghton, mhoughton@berkleyschools.org
March 9-11, 5:30-8:30 p.m., Hurley Field

Girls Tennis
Varsity Coach: Lenny Waldman, lwaldman@berkleyschools.org
JV Coach: Sue Ciaravino, ciaravino0312@gmail.com
March 10, 9:00-10:00 p.m., Birmingham Racquet Club
March 11, 9:00-10:00 p.m., Birmingham Racquet Club
March 13, 9:30-10:30 p.m., Birmingham Racquet Club
* Each student will be notified as to which day to try out.
**All questions should be directed to one of the coaches.

Track & Field
Head Coach: Les Hale, 1fastoldman@gmail.com
No tryout-first practice will begin March 9th after school for all interested students

Note: Each coach will let players know when cuts will be made.

 

 

 

Athletic Boosters 
The mission of the Berkley Athletic Boosters is to strive to maintain a quality
athletic program for all Berkley student athletes through parent support,
leadership and volunteerism.