BERKLEY ATHLETICS - HOME OF THE BEARS

PHONE:  248-837-8154
FAX:  248-544-5860

Winter Sports Meetings

Prior to registering for winter sports, students must attend one of the following meetings:

  • Varsity hockey - Wednesday, October 19, during lunch, east gym​

  • All other winter sports - Friday, October 21, after school, east gym

Eligibility Requirements

  • No more than one failing grade during the previous semester
  • ​​Have and maintain a GPA of 1.50 or higher from the previous semester

Sports Offered

boys basketball, girls basketball, boys bowling, competitive cheerleading, competitive downhill skiing, ice hockey, boys swimming/diving, wrestling

Registration

Registration Documents

All of the following must be submitted in order to try out for a team:

  • Athletic Resource Fee Agreement

  • Athletic Resource Fee payment (Check or money order only, made payable to Berkley School District)

  • MHSAA Physical and Medical History Form (Sports physical, signed and dated on or after April 15, 2016)
    The "Emergency Information" and "Medical Treatment Consent" sections must be submitted each season.  These can be found at the bottom of each MHSAA physical page.

Registration Dates

Thursday, November 3, 3:00-4:00 p.m., Athletic Office
Friday, November 4, 10:30 a.m. - noon

Sports Physicals

A sports physical dated on or after April 15, 2016 must be submitted at registration in order to try out for any 2016-2017 sports season.  A link to the MHSAA physical can be found in the Winter Sports Registration section above.

Sports physicals can be performed at one of the following facilities:

Berkley Urgent Care
$15.00 (walk in, no appointment needed)
3270 Greenfield Rd.
Berkley, MI  48072
Phone:  248-268-1525

Be Well Medical Center
$20.00 from 9:00-11:00 a.m. and 1:00-4:00 p.m. (no appointment needed)
1964 W Eleven Mile Rd.
Berkley, MI 48072
Phone: 248-544-9300

Michigan Physicians Group
$25.00 (appointment needed)              
2905 W. 12 Mile Rd.
Berkley, MI  48072
Phone:  248-541-0770

Tryout Information

In order to try out for a team, students must register in the Athletic office.  See Winter Sports Registration for details.

Boys Basketball
Varsity Coach:  Joe Sermo, sermojos10@hotmail.com
JV Coach: Rahim Russell, rahim_russell@yahoo.com
Freshman: Josh Owens, joshuaowens3@gmail.com
-- Varsity: November 14-15, 7:15-9:15 p.m., west gym
-- JV: November 14-16, 4:00-5:30 p.m., west gym
-- Freshman: November 14-16, 5:30-7:00 p.m., west gym

Girls Basketball
Varsity Coach: Jordan Gruppen, jgruppen07@yahoo.com
JV Coach:  Kirk Carolan, kirkcarolan@yahoo.com
-- November 7 & 8 at Anderson Middle School
-- November 9 at Berkley High School (west gym)
-- Juniors, seniors, and returning varsity players: 3:30-5:15
-- Freshman and sophomores: 5:15-7:00

Boys Bowling
Head Coach: Don Buchanan, sbuchanan8154@yahoo.com
-- November 14 (first practice), 4:00-5:15, Hartfield Lanes
-- Contact Coach Buchanan for more information.

Competitive Cheerleading
Varsity Coaches: Rachel Aytes, raytes@berkleyschools.org
Leilani Inthavong, leilaniinthavong@gmail.com
-- November 7-10, 5:30-7:30, east gym

Competitive Downhill Skiing (boys & girls)
Coach: Michael Grimes, grimesmt@wowway.com
-- November 14 (first day)
-- Contact Coach Grimes for more information.

Ice Hockey
Head Coach: Paul Fox, pwfox16@yahoo.com
-- October 31
-- Contact Coach Fox for more information.

Boys Swimming/Diving
Head Coach: Jason Austermann, jaustermann@berkleyschools.net
-- November 21 (first practice), after school, high school pool

Wrestling
Head Coach: Dave Roche, daveroche50@yahoo.com
Assistant Coach: Chris Ekola, ekola21@hotmail.com
-- November 14, after school, wrestling room­

Volunteer Drivers

Those who wish to drive students (other than their own child) must submit all of the following each school year.  (Please allow two weeks for approval.)