February 16, 2024

Board of Education Honors Student Athletes, Thespians and National Merit Scholars

Board of Education Honors Student Athletes, Thespians and National Merit Scholars

At the February 12th, 2024, Board of Education regular meeting, the Board honored middle school swimmers, high school thespians and National Merit Commended students.

Middle School Swimmers

On January 27, 2024, ten swimmers from the combined Berkley Middle School swim team (Anderson and Norup students) qualified for and swam at the State swim meet. The Board of Education honored the following swimmers for their State performances in individual events and in relays: Claire Bradley, Grace Burnham, Ava Glibota, Isabella Glibota, Maggie Loree, Sydney Marchak, Keira McEvoy, Liliana McLachlan, Stella Peters and Paige Rhoda.

50 Free

  • Maggie Loree placed 31st
  • Sydney Marchak placed 26th dropping .56 seconds
  • Keira McEvoy placed 41st
  • Stella Peters placed 39th
  • Paige Rhoda placed 20th in the state, dropping .28 seconds

100 Back

  • Claire Bradley placed 23rd
  • Maggie Loree placed 24th

100 Breast

  • Isabella Glibota placed 17th
  • Sydney Marchak placed 20th

200 Medley Relay

The team of Maggie Loree, Sydney Marchak, Liliana McLachlan, and Stella Peters placed 10th in the state with a time of 2:13.15! Isabella Glibota was the alternate in this race.

200 Free Relay

The team of Maggie Loree, Sydney Marchak, Stella Peters, and Paige Rhoda placed 9th in the state! Claire Bradley was the alternate in this race.

400 Free Relay

The team of Ava Glibota, Paige Rohda, Grace Burnham, and Liliana McLachlan placed 17th in the state!

BHS Thespians

On December 8 & 9, 24 BHS Thespians (Troupe 6439 of the International Thespian Society) competed, went to workshops and auditioned for college programs and scholarships at the Michigan Thespian Festival. The Board of Education honored the students for performing and competing along with 1,700 other thespians and chaperones. Students received individual and group awards, earned perfect scores, earned a combined $1.1 Million in scholarship offers and more.

Congratulations to all BHS Thespians who participated in the Thespian Festival:

Lily Ameloot, Lily Bernstein, Sophia Bernzweig, Charley Burns, Julia Carroll, Grace Comstock, James Crowe, Tyan Eades, Mia Echlin, Aria Gassman, Jacob Gonzales, Sebastian Hames, Angel Harris, Margo Hartzell, Stella Krzysiak, Jessica Mack, Nathan Raimi, Jordan Rowan, Shaya Schreiber, Hannah Schueler, Cecilia Shaw, Russell Sousanis, Taryn Stone and Tegan Stone.

National Merit Commended Students

The Board of Education honored two Berkley High School seniors Caroline Reaume and Alex Wright for earning the Commended Student standing in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

According to the National Merit Scholarship Program website, “Of the 1.6 million entrants, some 50,000 with the highest PSAT/NMSQT® Selection Index scores qualify for recognition in the National Merit® Scholarship Program. In September, these high scorers are notified through their schools that they have qualified as either a Commended Student or Semifinalist. More than two-thirds (about 34,000) of the approximately 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT® receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise.”

The National Merit Scholarship Program was created by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation in 1955. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.